Exploring The Abandoned. Midpoint review.

Reflection on the midpoint review.

Feedback from my colleagues on my work was neglible. The usual people participated and the usual people didn’t. This is frustrating for someone of my age – I have the confidence to give constructive criticism / feedback, but this can’t be said for the majority of the students in my year. So…

One thing I picked up on was that nobody talked about the subtitled narratives that I’d imposed onto the archive.org video clips. There was talk of the decontextualisation of the imagery, of the viewer being forced to impose their own narrative, but no comments about the mini-scripts that I’d writtten. This seems to back up the reflective observations that I made about this part of The Mystery Beach.

I feel that the amount / diversity of the work that I’m producing is perhaps going against me a little – I’m not working on The Big Idea – nor am I spending months working on one piece. I know this experimental idyll will have to come to an end once we move into year 2, but I will strive to maintain a reckless appproach to making work.

 

Leave a Reply

